The Hard Stuff.

Rusty Hoe over at Living with Bob posted this today, about the benefits of being honest regarding the hard parts of chronic illness. While wallowing isn’t terribly helpful, reaching out for help in the inevitable dark places that come with chronic health conditions is a valuable way of establishing social support, which can mitigate the experience of pain and distress associated with illness.

I know this very well (very! It’s the underlying topic of my thesis!) but still fail frequently to walk the walk. I’ve been avoiding this little space because of a horrible flare, which has left me intermittently screaming aloud (hadn’t done that in a while and didn’t miss it), crying on public transport, and mentally way, way down in the dumps. I thought that because I was feeling bad, I had nothing worth sharing and should keep my thoughts to myself. The Living with Bob post reminded me today that that isn’t necessarily so.

I can be honest and say I’m struggling, and that it’s okay. I can hope that if you’re struggling too, you can take some comfort knowing you’re not alone, and that you don’t have to always pretend everything is perfect for fear of being a downer. I can say that acknowledgement of your struggle, from others and from yourself, is incredibly important to wellbeing in chronic pain and illness. I can say that I’m sorry that we live in a society where asking for help is often construed as weakness. I can say that just by virtue of continuing to put one foot in front of the other and endure, you are showing incredible fortitude, bravery, and strength, whether you can see it or not.

I can remember that even when I do everything right in terms of self care and treatment, sometimes I will have flares anyway, and that they don’t mean I’ve screwed up or let anyone down. I can remind myself that even where I have slipped up and not taken care of myself as well as I could have, that doesn’t mean that I’ve brought this on myself and deserve to be punished.

I can remember that I’ve gotten through every rough patch so far, and that I’ll get through this one too. And you will too, whenever your next flare arrives. We just have to wait it out.

2 thoughts on “The Hard Stuff.

Leave a Reply

