In, On, Move: A Wellness Series.

On: My skin, since developing autoimmune issues, has become even more of a Goldilocks than it used to be. That product is too harsh and I am burning and rashy and bits of my skin are falling off! That product is too weak and it doesn’t actually do anything! Occasionally though, I find something just right, and I wanted to share what works for me.

Facial wipes are a necessity for me, because I am lazy, but I am also trying really hard to be a grown up and stop going to bed with makeup on. Also, my skin hates water (yes, tap water gives me a rash, because I am a delicate flower) so by washing with water once and using facial wipes once I get to minimise irritation and still not be filthy. Yay!

Too harsh: I tried Wotnot Facial Wipes, and I wanted to love them. They are marked as suitable for sensitive skin, reasonably priced, 100% certified organic, and “free from sulphates, petrochemicals, parabens, artificial preservatives and fragrances”. I used a packet of 25 wipes and was really happy with them, repurchased, and got about half-way through the second pack when my skin started burning and blotching post-use. I bought a third pack, because I am stupid sometimes, and ended up needing to use the rest as body wet-wipes because they made my face burn so horribly. If your skin is less ridiculous than mine, give them a go though.

Too gentle: After my burning experience, I wanted gentle and soothing (also cheap, in case they were another bust) and grabbed some Dr Organics Aloe Vera Wet Wipes. These were indeed soothing and refreshing, and didn’t irritate my skin even by the second pack. Unfortunately, they also didn’t really do much else; my eye makeup would not budge with these, and it didn’t feel like they completely removed my foundation / tinted moisturiser either. I kept using them anyway, failing something better, but when they were out of stock upon trying to buy my third pack, I ended up with…

Just right: Ecocare Facial Cleansing Wipes in Organic Honey and Apple. To be honest, to me these smell… weird. The honey and apple combines into a boozy, mead-and-cider type thing that I don’t love. But the actual wipes are made with organic cotton, and they are soft and grippy, so they actually feel like they are cleaning effectively, and they get rid of every speck of makeup, so I can deal with the smell. They were about $8 for a pack of 25, so not super-cheap but still pretty reasonable. I’m on my second pack and haven’t broken out in hives yet, so it’s looking good. Praise be to the gods of unjustly sensitive skin!

Do you have any recommendations for sensitive skin cleansers / wipes? I’d love to add to my options 🙂

Note: I bought all of these myself and this is my honest opinion!

Leave a Reply

