Silver Linings and Small Victories.

It’s been a while! I was having a hard time being grateful last week, and I decided not to force it, but I’m back and feeling better now, so here we go.

This week:

I am grateful for learning. The opportunity, the capacity, and the inclination.

I am grateful for my mum. She’s amazing. Even when she’s in worse shape than me (which is often – she has Complex Regional Pain Syndrome / Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy), she’s always worrying about me.

I am grateful for simple answers to complicated questions.

I am grateful for uncharacteristic nonchalance in the face of someone acting like I was an idiot.

I am grateful for surprisingly effortless interactions with someone who is often challenging to interact with.

I am grateful for help.

I am grateful for a secure home and a loving partner, and I am grateful for circumstances that remind me that things could be much more complicated.

I am grateful for cat cuddles, always.

I am grateful for delicious Paleo recipes (and, to be honest, ill-advised but delicious cheating in the form of Cadbury cream eggs).

I am grateful for eye-wateringly bright fuchsia, which I never wear but is my happy colour.

I am grateful for insomnia, because I awoke very early one morning, couldn’t get back to sleep, and spontaneously composed a full third of my literature review while laying in bed trying to get back to sleep. It’s not due for a month and that never happens to me.

I am disappointed that, in the State election that just passed, Labor (the party who was planning to make WA join in with the National Disability Insurance Scheme – we are currently the only Australian state not signed on and I am horrified) did not win. However, I am so, so grateful that I live in a democracy where I am able to vote, and my vote counts.

What are you grateful for?

Leave a comment