Fun Facts.

[I want to preface this by saying that I am not currently mentally prepared to engage in a discussion regarding the ethics of inducing pain in animals to advance scientific knowledge. However, given this study has already been done, I think sharing and learning from its findings are a way of making animals’ suffering not be for nothing. As with all things, you are free to respectfully disagree.]

So, we know social factors influence pain experience. And you guys, I just found out mice with pain who are allowed to hang out with their sibling mice experience greater pain relief from narcotics. Adorable. Go hug a mouse. Or your family. (If you have a mouse as a family member, you win at pain relief!)

And if you don’t trust mice, women given electric shocks while holding their spouse’s hand found the pain less unpleasant (as compared to women holding a stranger’s hand, or no hand), as it reduced the perceived threat of the pain. Takeaway lesson for the day: if you can have your family or a loved one present during a painful treatment or intervention, do it!

References:

Coan, J. A., Schaefer, H. S., & Davidson, R. J. (2006). Lending a hand: Social regulation of the neural response to threat. Psychological Science, 17(12), 1032-1039. doi:10.1111/j.1467-9280.2006.01832.x

D’Amato, F. R. (1998). Kin interaction enhances morphine analgesia in male mice. Behavioural Pharmacology, 9(4), 369-373. doi:10.1097/00008877-199807000-00009

2 thoughts on “Fun Facts.

  1. rachelmeeks

    Having endo makes my primary doctor my OBGYN, but I still never go without my husband. He holds my hand during everything from taking blood to….the more nitty gritty stuff. He’s a trooper and I don’t know what I’d do without him. 🙂

    Reply
    1. jezzybel Post author

      Haha, what a guy! I’ve taken my best friend and my mum to separate appointments with my neurosurgeon, who kind of acted like it was a bizarre thing to do. I felt like, yes, you do this everyday, but for me finding out I need spinal surgery is kind of a big deal and I need moral support! I always feel better having someone else there, even if it’s just as a distraction.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

