Link Round-Up.

http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/turning-straw-gold/201208/more-what-those-chronic-pain-or-illness-don-t-want-hear-you-say

A crowd-sourced summary of common annoying and ignorant responses to the chronically ill or in pain from others. I’ve had nearly all of these at one time or another and I’m sure a lot of you have too. Print out for insensitive family members and friends!

http://bobisdysautonomia.blogspot.com.au/2013/02/well-at-least-its-not.html

In a similar vein to the previous link, a note on why the response, “At least you don’t have [insert horrible thing]” is not helpful.

http://www.alexandrafranzen.com/2011/03/19/how-to-survive-when-everything-sucks/

Tips for how to get by when life is crappy. This isn’t illness-specific, but most (if not all) of these would be suitable for those times when I’m wallowing in “why me?”, and many could be done from bed if you are having a particularly nasty flare up.

http://fibrofeist.com/2013/02/05/what-i-need-you-to-know-i-do-wonder-why/

I love this series from Fibro Feist, and this piece was really moving for me. I think we all wonder why from time to time, and wonder if there was something we could have done differently to avoid getting sick. For my part, I know my issues had a genetic contribution, but various genes can be activated by environmental factors (the study of which is called epigenetics, if anyone wants to learn more), and I wonder if I could have avoided triggering mine. I’ve been worrying a lot lately about what I can do to prevent activating (if not transmitting) my sub-par genes in my hypothetical future children.

http://sunlightinwinter.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/violins-and-enhanced-sensory-maps-2/

I found this so interesting! I like the idea that all of us individuals with chronic pain are really just very well-practiced and highly skilled at detecting pain – it’s nice to occasionally re-frame what feels like a weakness as a strength. Plus, being hyper-sensitive to stimuli would have an evolutionary advantage; since many of us are too sore/fatigued/immobile/horizontal to run away from or fight off a threat, it helps if we can detect potential threats early!

8 thoughts on “Link Round-Up.

Leave a Reply

