Silver Linings and Small Victories.

This week:

I am grateful for my body’s ability to surprise me, by being able and willing to jog on the spot for a couple of minutes one day and (very briefly) hold a shoulder stand the next – both firsts in a very long time.

I am grateful for the body next to me when I’m lying awake in the darkness, which (to paraphrase Tool) reminds me that I am not alone.

I am grateful for the sound of my partner’s heartbeat, my cat’s purring, and the white noise of the pedestal fan, which form a relaxing symphony to keep me company when insomnia is making me feel lonely.

I am grateful for yoga which decreases my anxiety, and my body’s effort to engage in it.

I am grateful for moderate productivity and higher energy this week.

I am grateful to people on the internet, sharing recipes and helping me to nourish my body and build my confidence in the kitchen.

I am grateful for delicious Paleo espresso brownies.

I am grateful to academics who share wisdom and guide the way for the rest of us.

I am grateful again for moments of connection, where someone else on the other side of the world reaches out a hand, and says,“You too? I thought I was the only one”.

Leave a Reply

