In the Words of Others.

So there are lots of people smarter than me who also write about chronic illness and pain, and rather than continuing to collect hundreds of bookmarks, I’m going to use semi-regular link round-ups to keep track of them and hopefully share the wisdom (and ridiculousness).

http://www.xojane.co.uk/healthy/my-bad-health-isnt-a-choice

An excellent article, written by someone with the same class of illness as me (connective tissue disease) on why unsolicited health advice based on the assumption that you are ill because you make bad decisions is unhelpful and often unnecessary.

http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/turning-straw-gold/201212/physical-illnesses-may-soon-be-labeled-mental-disorders

Ugh. Uggggghhh. An overview of the proposed changes introduced to the DSM-5 (used by health professionals to classify and diagnose psychiatric disorders) regarding the ridiculously broad and all-inclusive Somatic Symptom Disorder; the symptoms of which describe pretty much every sick person ever, including those with, for example, cancer or diabetes.

http://www.umass.edu/fsap/articles/ill.html

A basic but helpful primer on living with chronic illness.

http://www.spine-health.com/forum/treatment/back-surgery-and-neck-surgery/post-op-must-haves-0

A wonderfully comprehensive list of what to do and take before surgery and what to have handy afterwards; geared towards spinal surgery but useful in general. Also, note that some of the products are American (a ‘johnny’ is an open-backed hospital robe, if anyone was wondering). A lot of products like ‘grabby sticks’ (my term), shower and toilet chairs can be hired short term from chemists, hospitals, or Medihire. I wish I had seen this before my back surgery, as there are some great ideas (towel on bed = genius) but I am bookmarking it for future use.

https://www.facebook.com/may12th.awareness/posts/10151168199522161

Some thoughts on invisible illness and the ubiquitous “But you don’t look sick” (to which my internal reply is usually, “Well, you don’t look like an insensitive ass, but here we are”).

http://www.redcross.org/prepare/location/home-family/disabilities

A link to a Preparing for Disasters kit by the Red Cross for people with disabilities and illness. I live directly next to a frequent bushfire area, and we are currently experiencing a pretty massive heatwave, so bushfire preparedness is on my mind. People with mobility issues need a solid plan in place before something happens; if I’m having a day where it takes me ten minutes to get from my bedroom to the front door, I need to be on alert for emergencies to get myself out in time. I also need to know that someone else can grab my cat to bring her out if I’m not able to carry her.

Leave a Reply

