Healthy New Year.

This year:

I cannot control whether or not I can get a job. I can make and attend an appointment with CRS, meet with a uni career counsellor, get a first aid certification, and utilise all the available help to keep myself in employment.

I cannot control whether I will have the physical capacity to exercise every day, or a certain number of days a week. I can celebrate manageable- or no-pain days by moving my body gently in ways I enjoy, such as through yoga, pilates, and swimming.

I cannot control whether I can get my license. I can make sure I withdraw and set aside money from every pay so that when my body is able, I can take driving lessons and get closer to my goal.

I cannot control whether I will be healthy and pain-free. I can control what I purchase and therefore put in (less dairy, grains, legumes, sugar, or processed foods) and on my body (less synthetic and non-organic cleaning agents, toiletries, beauty products, and cosmetics), and in doing so give my body the best possible chance at being healthy and pain-free.

Better, not perfect.

Leave a Reply

